Guard Passing 2

Guard Passing 2

Continuing on with my last guard passing post I just want to reiterate again that there are so many different guard passes how does one keep from being overwhelmed? Whenever I personally feel like something is too much for me I like to go back to the age old wise acronym I learned in 8th grade while playing basketball. K.I.S.S. keep it simple stupid! To me there really is no good or bad passes. Every pass can be used at a specific time and place and there is a reason for everything good and bad. For example when I do my toreando pass should I grab at the knees or closer near the ankles. When approaching an open pass should I step inside the middle using an A frame to cut through or begin by
reaching for the pant legs or I can initiate a toreanda? Whether you like pressure or speed, passing on your knees or standing up, you should get familiar with a couple of basic passes, mix them up , and find which ones work for you best. Passes I believe everybody should be familiar and I consider fundamental would be:
torreando, knee slide pass, double under pass. Majority of the other passes will be variations of these three main passes often used and combined together, mixed and
matched with all kinds of grip variotions etc.

For myself I am light and lanky and like to use my personal attributes when passing such as the ability to maintain distance due to my long limbs, and my speed. Therefore I use a lot of toreando passing often moving from one side to the other trying to tire my opponent or keep him flat on his back. I often try to use Leandro Lo’s variation of the pass, I feel it is quick and an aggressive style thigh fits my body type. I am still learning the nuances of the pass and my options; being a white belt I still have a lot to learn and more rolling to do. So enough banter lets see the man himself in action!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

