Strength and Conditioning for Jiu Jitsu

OK….So lately I have been trying to make a commitment to myself and for my jiu jitsu that I will begin some kind of strength and conditioning for jiu jitsu. Just go ahead and type in strength and conditioning on a search engine and the information that you can get is limitless.  Everything from advertisements, articles, workouts, etc etc. Try finding something more specific for jiu jitsu  and boom you will find two camps of thinking. Camp numero uno says will say that strength and conditioning is a must if you want to push your jiu jitsu to the next level and depending on who you ask will have varying workouts. Camp numero dos will say that jiu jitsu is such a  specific sport that you are better served working on your jiu jitsu. You should develop you strength and conditioning by just doing jiu jitsu and pushing your self while training!

Personally  I would say that I fall somewhere in between. I remember whenever I began a strength program I would always be to tired to preform my best during  my jiu jitsu training sessions.  So if I do workout it to lift weights or do some extra conditioning it is only because I cannot make it to jiu jitsu. I never want to miss a  jiu jitsu session for a S&C session.

Here is one of the greatest to ever do it on the mat Marcelo Garcia opinion on S&C.

Peace, Love, and Chicken Grease!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

