K.I.S.S (Keep It Simple Stupid)

Been a blue belt for about a year know. So please whatever I write on this blog do not hold it against me. I know nothing. I am always trying to learn, improve, think and reflect on how I can get better in the most efficient way possible. Often most of my learning, like most of you probably comes after class on the mats. By just talking, going over techniques, reflecting on rolls and situations that just happened in class I have been able to improve my jiu jitsu with the help of others. Whether it is me asking a higher belt or my instruction a question or somebody asking me for my opinion, taking the time out to reflect, question and journal my experiences is one method I have found useful in improving my jiu jitsu. One of the biggest takeaways I have received is to keep things simple. Thus the acronym K.I.S.S.

Keep it simple stupid. Often times it is ourselves who get in the way of our own progression. I know myself starting as a beginner and catching the jiu jitsu bug we cannot stop for wanting to check out everything jiu jitsu. Whether it is the latest magazine, online forums, YouTube clips, the list is enormous we often do ourselves a disservice by not trusting those who have come before us like our instructors and senior classmates. This apparently has not been as clear to me as it is now, but my game did not start to immensely improve until I simplified my game. Not ask to many questions when drilling a techniques just learned in class. For example as an uke and letting a partner drill how to recover guard, ask the instructor, how can I attack from here or stop him from getting guard. Trying to move way to fast before I understand how to execute a technique smoothly. We should all use our precious time wisely, focusing our energies at the task at hand. There usually is a method to the madness and the reason why the instructor is teaching you and asking you to drill how to get your guard back from half guard instead of  focusing on top half guard attack. Personally I find it a lot easier in my daily life when I have less choices and when my game or objective is more defined. Have you ever been to a restaurant and have so many delicious options to choose from that you just freeze up, space out, oat all the options available. The same thing happens in jiu jitsu all the time. Information overload. You are thinking and your opponent is reacting, attacking, always one step ahead, two steps ahead, or maybe even three or four! Best way to speed up your decision making speed is to just limit your options to A or B choices and keep it simple. Just like going to a burger joint where the only option you have is a hamburger or cheese burger. Anyways this rant is long and im getting tired its late. Just remember to keep it simple stupid! Peace love and chicken grease.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

